What Are Nevada’s Car Seat Laws?

September 30, 2021 Car Accidents

Children are especially susceptible to injury during a car accident. As a result, Nevada laws require that many children be placed in car seats until they reach a certain age and size. Failure to comply with Nevada’s car seat laws will not only result in possible fines and other penalties—if a child isn’t secured in a car seat during an accident, devastating events may also occur. If you are a Nevada parent, it is important to understand and stay up to date on the state’s car seat laws so that you can keep your child safe.

Car Seat Requirements for Nevada Children

Under Nevada law, all children under six years old and below 60 pounds must be placed in a child seat while traveling in a vehicle. The child seat must be appropriate for the size and weight of the child. Additionally, parents must also ensure that the seats are properly installed and securely attached to the vehicle. The term child seats refer to traditional car seats, as well as booster seats and seat belts.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), children should be placed in the following types of car seats.

  • Newborns to 12-month-old babies should use rear-facing car seats placed in the vehicle’s backseat.
  • Toddlers aged between one and three years should be placed in a forward-facing car seat in the backseat.
  • Children between four and seven years old should be placed in a booster seat in the backseat.
  • Children between eight and 12 years old can use a seat belt in the backseat.

Children should remain in car seats until they outgrow the manufacturer’s height and weight limits before moving on to the next size up, even if they meet the age requirements. A seat that is too large for a child may be very dangerous. Likewise, a child who begins to use a seat belt before he or she grows out of a booster seat may be susceptible to injury during a car accident.

Penalties for Not Using a Car Seat in Nevada

Failure to use a car seat can result in very high penalties in Nevada. Not using a car seat can result in misdemeanor penalties if the child is under six years old, weighs 60 pounds or less, and is not large enough for a booster seat.

Penalties for not using a car seat in Nevada increase based on the number of previous offenses.

  • For a first offense, defendants can face either $100 to $500 in fines or 10 to 50 hours of community service. A judge may waive these requirements if the defendant takes a child restraint system training class.
  • For a second offense, defendants can face between $500 to $1,000 in fines and 10 to 50 hours of community service. The judge may waive these requirements for a child restraint training class as long as fines or community service wasn’t waived under the first offense.
  • For third and subsequent offenses, parents can face a driver’s license suspension between 30 to 180 days.

If you and your child are involved in any type of car accident, it is important to speak with a Henderson car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Your Henderson injury attorney can support you and your family in the aftermath of a collision. Contact a Vegas car accident lawyer following your accident to discuss your legal options and strategize your next steps.