Is Nevada a No-Fault State?

February 27, 2024 Car Accidents

If you are involved in a car accident, there is one question that often comes to mind: who is responsible for paying for the damages? The answer depends on where the accident occurred and whether the state follows a fault or no-fault insurance system. In fault states, the at-fault driver must pay, while in no-fault states, this responsibility rests with the victim and their coverage.

Nevada is not a no-fault state. Like most states, it follows a fault-based standard when it comes to car accidents. This means that the financial responsibility for accidents falls on the drivers who cause them.

Nevada’s Fault-Based Insurance System

In Nevada, drivers who cause collisions have to pay for any damages that the victims incur as a result. Other motorists, passengers, pedestrians, and cyclists can pursue compensation against at-fault drivers by:

  • Filing a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance policy
  • Filing a claim against their own insurance coverage, if they have the appropriate policy
  • Filing a personal injury lawsuit against the driver in civil court

To ensure that every driver can uphold this financial responsibility in the event of an accident, Nevada requires all motorists to carry liability insurance coverage. These policies must meet the following minimum requirements, although drivers can purchase higher amounts of coverage if they wish:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the policyholder or driver of the insured vehicle
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the policyholder or driver of the insured vehicle
  • $20,000 for property damage per accident caused by the policyholder or driver of the insured vehicle

In the instance that your loved one suffers fatal injuries in an accident, be sure to consult with an experienced wrongful death attorney in Las Vegas.

What Happens If You’re Injured by an Uninsured Driver

Although Nevada mandates liability insurance, not all motorists abide by these requirements. If you are hit by a driver without adequate coverage, or coverage at all, you may wonder what your options are for compensation. Fortunately, there is an optional insurance policy that you can purchase to cover your bases: uninsured motorist (UM) coverage.

UM coverage helps pay for your damages in an accident if the at-fault driver does not have insurance, or if you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident. This insurance covers medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, but it does not pay for property damage.

However, you must carry UM coverage before your accident for it to apply to your accident. Otherwise, your main option would be to file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver for the remainder of your damages.

Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Nevada

Driving without insurance in Nevada carries severe penalties. There is no grace period for lapses in car insurance coverage; even a single day without coverage can lead to the suspension of a vehicle’s registration. The reinstatement fee starts at a minimum of $251, and increases based on the duration of the insurance lapse and the driver’s history of previous offenses. 

Speak to a Nevada Car Accident Lawyer Today

If you find yourself navigating the aftermath of a car accident in Nevada, it’s important to work with an attorney who can help fight for your right to compensation. A lawyer can help with pursuing a claim against an at-fault driver’s insurance, filing a lawsuit in civil court, or even claiming benefits under your UM coverage if applicable. After your collision, reach out to a Las Vegas car accident attorney to explore your next steps.