Nevada Car Accident Laws

May 15, 2022 Car Accidents

Each year, hundreds of people are injured or killed in car accidents in Nevada. To protect the rights of victims, the state has several laws on the books regarding what to do following a collision. In these situations, it is important to be aware of Nevada car accident laws.

Nevada Car Accident Laws

Nevada Car Insurance Requirements

Nevada is a fault insurance state. This means that motor vehicle drivers are financially responsible for any accidents that they cause. Victims of these collisions have the right to file insurance claims or lawsuits against the at-fault driver.

State law requires motorists to carry the following minimum amounts of liability insurance in order to uphold this responsibility.

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person per accident
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury or death liability per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage per accident

You can choose to purchase higher amounts of coverage if you wish. You could also purchase additional coverage to pay for other situations. For example, you may invest in collision coverage to pay for damage to your own vehicle, or uninsured motorist policies, which pay for accidents involving drivers without the proper coverage.

Penalties for driving without insurance can be steep. A one-day lapse in coverage can result in a $250 fine. If you do not have insurance for 181 days or more, you could end up paying a total of $1,250. 

Requirements for Reporting a Car Accident in Nevada

In Nevada, you are required by law to report certain types of motor vehicle accidents to the police. If no police officer came to the scene of the collision and the accident resulted in any of the following, you are required to file a report.

  • Injury to a person
  • Death to a person
  • Damage to a vehicle or property

According to state law, you will need to report the accident forthwith, which means immediately. You will need to file the report at the nearest office of the Nevada Highway Patrol or a local law enforcement authority. Failure to report a car accident in Nevada may result in a one-year-long driver’s license suspension.

Comparative Negligence in Nevada Collisions

It is very common for two or more parties to be at fault for a motor vehicle collision. If you’re injured in a Nevada car accident and the court believes that you are partially at fault for the collision, the state’s comparative negligence rules will apply.

Nevada follows a modified comparative negligence standard. You can recover damages in a car accident lawsuit even if you were partially responsible for the collision. However, the court will reduce your award according to your share of liability. If you have a greater share than that of the other parties, then you will be barred from recovering any compensation.

For example, say that the court assigns you 20% of the liability. If you request a $100,000 settlement, you will only receive $80,000. If you were assigned 55% of the fault, you would receive $0.

Speak to a Nevada Car Accident Attorney

Being involved in a car accident can be a scary experience. In these situations, you need someone who can advocate for you and guide you through the claims process. As soon as possible after your accident, speak to a Las Vegas, NV car accident attorney and plan your next steps.